Michigan

 Michigan State

Overview of Small to Medium Sized Senior Homes as Licensed in the state of Michigan:

Source(s): Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

States Common Name for
Residential Senior Care Homes?
• Adult Foster Care Family Homes
Adult Foster Care Large Group Homes
Adult Foster Care Medium Group Homes
Adult Foster Care Small Group Homes
Home for the Aged
Licensing or Legal Standards Required?  Yes
How many Residents Accommodated? Care for 2 – 20, more residents for Homes for the Aged
Typical Staff-to-Patient Ratio?  Varies according to home type
Average Per Month Home Rate?  $2000.00 - $3500.00 per month. Also, move in cost in many cases.
Is Nurse Staffing Typical? See Below
How do Residents Typically Pay? Private Pay, Medicaid, Long Term Care Insurance

 

Assisted Living in Michigan Defined

“Assisted living” is not a legally defined term in Michigan. As such, assisted living in Michigan is typically provided by one of two types of facilities:

  • Adult Foster Care Homes (AFCs)
  • Homes for the Aged (HFAs)

While not legally referred to as an assisted living facility, HFAs and AFCs are not nursing homes. Both types of facilities offer only daily assistance and supervision to residents, rather than extensive medical or skilled nursing care. Both HFAs and AFCs offer personal care services, which include assistance or supervision with activities of daily living, such as:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Walking
  • Administration of medication

The main difference between the two facilities is that HFAs require residents to be at least 60 years of age or older, whereas AFCs provide personal care services to any adult. Another key difference is size. A Home for the Aged requires that there be 21 or more residents over 60 years of age, while AFCs house 20 or less residents. Adult Foster Care Homes are typically divided into:

  • Family Homes for 1-6 people
  • Small Group Homes for 1-12 people
  • Large Group Homes for 13-20 people

Regulation of Michigan Assisted Living Facilities

Assisted living in Michigan is regulated and licensed by the Michigan Department of Human Services, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing. Before applying for a license, every AFC and HFA must prove that it is in compliance with state fire safety laws and provide a criminal history report for all employees. A facility must be licensed as an AFC facility if it provides personal care services and housing to 20 or fewer residents, or be licensed as a HFA if it provides personal care and housing to 21 or more residents who are all 60 years of age or older. Every facility must be inspected by the Bureau of Children and Adult licensing before being issued a license, and may inspect the facility again in the case that a complaint is filed by a resident.

More in this category: « Ohio Wisconsin »